Solar Cost Atlas

Anderson Solar Guide: Local SolarAPP+ Limits, City Handoff and Revised Plans

Keep Anderson's limited automated-solar route separate from conventional review, platform approval separate from the city permit, and eligible revisions separate from projects leaving SolarAPP+.

Sources reviewed: 2026-10-27

Key takeaways

  • Anderson's described automated route is locally limited, not the full software capability.
  • The 10 kW wording does not resolve AC/DC basis or exactly-10-kW applicability here.
  • Platform processing and approval precede a separate city application, invoice and issued permit.
  • Eligible revisions and revisions leaving SolarAPP have different published procedures.

This Anderson solar guide combines local official application evidence with saved production and housing datasets. Use it to ask better questions about the complete proposed installation, not as a permit, roof assessment, local price survey or personalized financial recommendation. The local review route and electricity account matter independently of the energy model.

Confirm Anderson, California and the actual automated-review eligibility

This guide concerns the City of Anderson in California, not Anderson in another state. Confirm the actual parcel and reviewing authority before choosing an application or inspection process. Describe modules, inverter, any storage, service changes, roof work and associated construction together. The current SolarAPP+ page says installation contractors must be registered with the platform and limits the city's use to residential roof-mounted PV under 10 kW with no ESS or battery. Preserve that local restriction rather than assuming every project supported by the software is eligible in Anderson or that a homeowner account establishes the required professional role. Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff

The page directs commercial projects, systems above 10 kW, main-panel upgrades or derates and installations with batteries to the online application route rather than the described automated route. It does not specify the AC/DC basis of its 10 kW wording or expressly settle an exactly-10-kW case. The linked bulletin does not resolve that numerical basis. Confirm those details with the city instead of silently changing under to at most, choosing inverter capacity as the threshold or using the six-kilowatt DC reference model as an eligibility decision. Module kW, inverter kW and annual kWh remain different quantities. Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures PVWatts V8 model documentation

The two-page eligibility bulletin adds a California-licensed PV contractor, a single-family or duplex rooftop installation on a legal permitted code-compliant structure, no battery, no ground-mounted or ballasted system and no FEMA Special Flood Hazard Area location. It identifies further technical conditions, including no existing PV/storage, specified roof loading and service characteristics. These are published screening conditions, not engineering approval for the homeowner's roof. Have qualified professionals and the city establish the full current criteria. The general description that SolarAPP+ checks many residential roofs does not override the more limited local bulletin or certify every associated change as eligible. Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

Anderson: project and approval records

  1. Confirm jurisdiction and eligibility: Describe complete equipment and related work, including unresolved threshold questions.
  2. Obtain appropriate plan review: Use only the route the city accepts for the actual scope.
  3. Complete the city handoff: Retain matching uploads, actual fees and the issued permit.
  4. Resolve revisions and inspections: Keep eligible changes separate from route-exit review.
  5. Retain independent closeout evidence: Resolve actual city outcomes and written provider permission.
A conceptual document checklist, not a promised schedule or technical eligibility decision. Follow the current local route and serving utility; some steps can overlap.

Diagram sources: www.ci.anderson.ca.us, www.ci.anderson.ca.us, www.ci.anderson.ca.us, www.pge.com, www.pge.com

Resolve panel-work qualifications and complete both application stages

The bulletin says no panel upgrade or derate within the described eligibility, while adding that such work may be permitted separately and may allow SolarAPP use for the PV system. The current webpage instead directs projects with panel upgrades or derates to online application. Do not treat that conditional bulletin language as automatic permission to split a combined project to obtain automated treatment. Describe the complete work and ask the city which route and separate records, if any, it accepts. Preserve the distinction between a possible approved arrangement and a categorical eligibility promise made before the responsible reviewers have assessed the actual proposal. Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

For a project the city confirms eligible, the webpage describes submitting through SolarAPP+, paying its processing fee and downloading approval documents. That processing fee is separate from city PV permit fees. The contractor then completes the city's online application and uploads the platform documents; a city invoice is created, paid through the portal, and the permit can be issued and downloaded. Keep platform approval, city submission, assessment, payment and the issued record distinct. A platform approval ID or processing receipt alone is not the city's permit or authorization for the final changed configuration. Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff

The bulletin requires the SolarAPP approval ID and system size in the application fields, with approved documents including manufacturers' specification sheets, a single-line diagram and plot plan attached. It says the issued permit and those approved records must be at the jobsite and correlate, warning of inspection delays if they do not. Coordinate the actual equipment and plan versions rather than uploading a different proposal's approval or retaining outdated sheets after a change. The guide visually checked both bulletin pages, but does not certify a particular roof, conductor size, protection device or equipment arrangement as technically compliant. Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

Use the actual current inspection channel and match the onsite records

The current Building Department page links iWorQ for permit applications and inspection requests and gives 530-378-6636 for assistance. The bulletin's inspection step refers instead to the city's Cloud Permit webpage or calling that same department number. Preserve that terminology difference rather than claiming the bulletin proves a completed migration, automatic account transfer or the current location of every older permit. Use the current official entry and confirm the actual permit's request channel with staff. An older system name is not evidence that its records have been moved or that a new portal login is associated with the project. Anderson current building application and inspection entry Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

The bulletin says to schedule after installation is complete, but does not establish every intermediate inspection requirement for all associated work. Ask which stages and records apply to the full permit, especially if panel work or another scope has separate approval. Confirm the real appointment, required attendance and readiness instead of assuming a portal request guarantees a particular day or arrival period. The reviewed sources do not give a universal booking cutoff, daily field schedule, cancellation deadline, next-day promise or flat reinspection charge. Those details should not be borrowed from another California city or a similarly named Anderson jurisdiction. Anderson current building application and inspection entry Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

Have qualified personnel coordinate safe access and matching issued documents, platform approval, diagram and plot plan. Do not instruct the homeowner to expose live electrical parts, remove protective covers or energize unfinished equipment to prepare for inspection. Retain the actual outcome and any correction direction; a requested appointment, completed-looking roof or paid permit is not a passing result. Ask which final records close every applicable city permit and keep unapproved changes visible rather than assuming one inspection closes separately permitted panel work or a proposal whose battery or equipment changes have moved it outside the original eligibility. Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

Distinguish an eligible revision from a project leaving SolarAPP+

For revisions remaining in the SolarAPP process, the bulletin says to submit revised plans to SolarAPP, obtain the required approval report, attach the revised plans to the city application and submit as Revised. City staff update the existing permit and notify the applicant if additional fees are due; after payment, staff update the application. Preserve both review stages and actual accepted versions. A contractor's field substitution, revised sales drawing or the same nominal module capacity does not establish that the platform and city have approved the revised system. Confirm the complete current procedure and retain the actual updated city record. Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

For revisions that remove eligibility, the bulletin gives a different route: submit complete revised plans, remove the SolarAPP approval-ID reference and mark the application No longer SolarAPP eligible. Staff review completeness and add plan-review fees under the approved schedule; electrical reviewers review the plans and update the permit to identify that it is no longer in the SolarAPP process. Do not leave the old automated approval represented as authorization for an ineligible expanded project. Ask the city how to coordinate changed equipment, separate associated work and any provider submissions before the contractor proceeds with a design that no longer matches the original route. Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures

The public instructions do not certify a universal total review duration, automatic extension, refund entitlement or every fee amount for revisions. Obtain actual assessment, status and directions if construction pauses or the installer changes. Keep the owner able to distinguish the original issued scope, pending proposed changes, any approved revision and outstanding inspections. Where source wording remains qualified or system names differ, verify the actual project rather than replacing uncertainty with a convenient claim. The fixed energy scenario below is useful for explaining modeled output, not for deciding whether a changed project remains within local technical screening or calculating the city's real assessed charges. Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff Anderson current building application and inspection entry Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures PVWatts V8 model documentation

Keep Anderson completion separate from provider permission and financial analysis

Keep the route-specific approval, actual city-issued permit, matching onsite documents and any accepted eligible revision or conventional-review update with the final municipal outcomes. Platform approval alone does not replace that city record. Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures Retain the actual issued record, accepted equipment and plan versions, assessed charges, required inspection outcomes, corrections and applicable final approvals together. Ask which records close the complete proposal and who supplies them before calling the contractor's obligations finished. A payment, scheduled visit, platform approval or visually complete installation answers a different question. If the installer changes or work pauses, obtain the real status from the responsible reviewers instead of relying on a former contractor's internal completed label. Keep actual written decisions, including any approved changes, with the owner-accessible project documents.

Verify the serving electricity account and any separate generation arrangement independently of Anderson jurisdiction. Only if that account identifies PG&E should its interconnection instructions be applied to the actual final generating and storage equipment. PG&E's guidance calls for official written permission to operate. A municipal permit or passing local inspection does not replace that authorization, and a provider acknowledgment does not resolve outstanding city corrections. If equipment changes, ask which local and provider submissions need updating before relying on paperwork for an earlier configuration. Agree who supplies the provider documents, resolves deficiencies and delivers written permission, rather than assuming that a contractor's blanket statement that the utility is done establishes every required outcome. PG&E solar interconnection and official written permission to operate

For a relevant PG&E residential Solar Billing Plan account, distinguish monthly statements from the annual True-Up statement and verify actual tariff, account charges and generation terms. A financial comparison needs real consumption, import/export timing and explicit storage-operation assumptions. The fixed reference scenario estimates typical-year AC solar energy at a representative point, not a household bill, measured roof output, export-revenue schedule or backup-runtime simulation. Housing estimates are contextual survey data, not counts of solar-ready roofs or proof of financial suitability. Keep model limitations and actual account calculations distinguishable from local review and provider authorization. Neither a faster permit route nor a larger annual kWh number establishes personalized savings, an appropriate design or a guaranteed return on the complete construction cost. PG&E residential Solar Billing Plan, monthly statements and annual True-Up PVWatts V8 model documentation Census 2020-2024 ACS five-year dataset documentation

Compare the complete Anderson proposal without assuming a local price

For arithmetic only, a hypothetical 6 kW DC installation at $2.75 per watt costs $16,500: 6,000 watts multiplied by $2.75. This is an original illustration, not an observed Anderson market price, contractor survey, permit assessment or recommended budget. It does not include a separately priced battery, roof repair, service change or financing unless those items are expressly included in the hypothetical scope. No former residential federal credit is deducted after the IRS placed-in-service cutoff. Compare written offers for the same complete work, rather than dividing an incomplete advertised package by the module rating and assuming it covers the actual property. PVWatts V8 model documentation IRS Residential Clean Energy Credit, placed-in-service cutoff

Separate platform processing from actual city fees, confirm the accepted route for panel work and storage, and allocate matching documents, revisions, possible route-exit plan review and inspection attendance. Ask for itemized equipment, installation labor, professional documents, roof and electrical work, storage if proposed, municipal charges, platform charges where applicable and provider application handling. Identify responsibility for corrections, changed plans, additional reviews and return visits. A quoted allowance is not an assessed fee. Ask whether final documents and utility permission are included in the contractor's responsibilities, and retain the written answer with the accepted scope. None of the official application pages constitutes a local installed-price survey or makes a municipal payment equivalent to the total construction cost.

Request the cash price and any different financed price, principal, interest rate, term and total payments. For an account actually identifying PG&E, distinguish monthly Solar Billing Plan statements from the annual True-Up statement. A household comparison additionally needs actual consumption, import and export timing, applicable account terms, any separate generation arrangement and explicitly modeled battery operation. Annual solar production cannot by itself calculate the remaining bill. This guide promises no savings percentage, export revenue, battery runtime, rebate or payback. A lower upfront payment is not proof of a lower total cost, and a city final is not permission to operate. Keep financial assumptions separate from the municipal and provider records. PG&E solar interconnection and official written permission to operate PG&E residential Solar Billing Plan, monthly statements and annual True-Up

A documented 6 kW reference scenario for Anderson

The saved Anderson scenario estimates approximately 8,980 kWh AC annually at the Census representative point, not at a surveyed household roof. Its fixed inputs are 6 kW DC of modules, a roof-mounted south-facing array, 20-degree tilt, 14% aggregate system losses, a 1.2 DC/AC ratio and 96% inverter efficiency. The implied nominal inverter capacity is 5 kW AC. Module capacity, inverter capacity and annual energy are different quantities; none alone establishes permit eligibility. PVWatts V8 model documentation

PVWatts uses typical-year weather, not measured 2026 electricity production. The Anderson table retains all twelve modeled months and the annual total, with no extra 0.80 multiplier applied to its already modeled AC output. Model 0602042-roof-6kw-south-20deg-v1, provider version 8.5.0, identifies the saved scenario. It does not inspect shade, usable roof area, framing or electrical equipment, simulate storage dispatch, or calculate bills. Obtain a new estimate for the actual layout if module count, orientation or other inputs change. PVWatts V8 model documentation

Anderson: solar energy is not design approval or savings

  1. Survey the property: Describe the real roof, shading, structure and complete electrical scope.
  2. Model solar energy: Use the actual layout and identify DC module kW, AC inverter kW and annual AC kWh separately.
  3. Confirm approvals: Obtain the appropriate local review and serving provider's authorization for the final equipment.
  4. Analyze the bill: Use consumption, imports, exports, tariff and any battery operating assumptions; energy alone is not savings.
The fixed 6 kW DC scenario implies 5 kW nominal AC inverter capacity. Annual AC kWh does not establish structural suitability, permit eligibility, battery runtime or bill savings.

Diagram sources: developer.nlr.gov, www.ci.anderson.ca.us, www.pge.com, www.pge.com

Read the Anderson housing estimates with their uncertainty

The housing table joins Anderson to its exact Census place GEOID 0602042, using the 2020-2024 ACS five-year survey and 2024 geographic vintage. It reports occupied and owner-occupied housing units with their separate published 90% margins of error. These are multi-year estimates, not current 2026 household counts or counts of roofs eligible for solar. Keep the estimate and margin together when citing the data, and do not interpret ownership alone as installation permission or structural suitability. Census 2020-2024 ACS five-year dataset documentation

Survey acs-2020-2024-0602042 supplies the saved Anderson figures. Local ownership and occupancy context can help explain whom a guide may serve, but cannot establish roof condition, financial suitability or the number of installations. Small differences in modeled production or survey counts between neighboring places are not evidence that one community has better solar economics. The property assessment, verified account and local project records are the decision inputs. Displayed monthly and annual energy values are rounded independently, so their displayed totals can differ slightly. PVWatts V8 model documentation Census 2020-2024 ACS five-year dataset documentation

Check the installation date rather than assuming a federal credit

For new-installation planning, the IRS says property placed in service after December 31, 2025 is not eligible for the former residential clean energy credit. No such credit is deducted from the hypothetical cash example here. Older eligible expenses and unused-credit carryforwards are separate tax-return matters. Do not use a legacy incentive link on an otherwise useful municipal or utility page as proof of a current benefit, or replace an expired credit with an unverified local rebate. Confirm any other claimed benefit for the actual applicant, equipment and timing. IRS Residential Clean Energy Credit, placed-in-service cutoff

Keep the Anderson sources and account references together

The municipal, utility and IRS source text used for this Anderson article was reviewed October 27, 2026. Review means checking the public documents and their stated limits, not obtaining municipal staff approval or confirming every dated fee or code reference as newly effective. The production and housing data are saved research snapshots. Retain project-specific written requirements, final equipment and assessed charges as the project develops.

Read the California state guide for broader context. Only if the actual electricity account identifies PG&E, consult the PG&E utility guide. This is not a parcel-level territory assignment or confirmation of the generation supplier. Verify the serving provider, applicable account terms, interconnection status and any separate generation arrangement before analyzing imports, exports or savings. SMUD and neighboring-city rules are not substitutes for the actual account's requirements.

Anderson: reference production, 6 kW DC

Anderson: reference production, 6 kW DC
MonthModeled AC production (kWh)
January387
February533
March743
April831
May1,005
June990
July1,041
August975
September860
October722
November501
December391
Annual total8,980

Anderson: 2020-2024 ACS housing estimates

Anderson: 2020-2024 ACS housing estimates
MeasureFive-year estimate90% margin of error
Occupied housing units4,825±254
Owner-occupied housing units2,801±241

Anderson: scope and verification decisions

Anderson: scope and verification decisions
Project questionDocumented fact or boundaryWhat to verify
Under 10 kW on what basis?The webpage does not specify AC or DC.Actual capacity basis and exactly-10-kW handling.
Battery or panel work?The local page directs these to online application.Complete scope and any specifically accepted separate arrangement.
Platform receipt equals city permit?The city handoff, invoice and issuance are separate.Actual accepted documents and issued record.
Cloud Permit or iWorQ?The bulletin and current department use different names.Actual permit channel and any legacy-record continuity.
Still eligible after a change?The bulletin gives separate revision and route-exit procedures.Updated complete plans and accepted review route.

Frequently asked questions

Does Anderson's automated route include batteries?

The current local page and bulletin exclude batteries from the described automated route. Confirm the complete proposal through the city. [Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/departments/development_services_and_building_departments/building_department/permit_forms_fees.php) [Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/Solar%20App%20Eligibility.pdf?t=202408061255260)

Can this guide choose an AC or DC basis for 10 kW?

No. The reviewed sources do not resolve that basis or expressly settle exactly 10 kW. Ask the city instead of silently changing the rule. [Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/departments/development_services_and_building_departments/building_department/permit_forms_fees.php) [Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/Solar%20App%20Eligibility.pdf?t=202408061255260)

Does separately permitting panel work automatically qualify PV?

No. The bulletin says it may allow SolarAPP use, while the webpage directs panel-work projects to online application. Obtain the actual city's route decision. [Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/departments/development_services_and_building_departments/building_department/permit_forms_fees.php) [Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/Solar%20App%20Eligibility.pdf?t=202408061255260)

Does SolarAPP approval itself issue the city permit?

No. The page describes a separate city application, document upload, invoice/payment and downloadable issued permit. [Anderson current local SolarAPP+ limits, separate fees and city application handoff](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/departments/development_services_and_building_departments/building_department/permit_forms_fees.php)

What if a revision removes SolarAPP eligibility?

The bulletin requires complete revised plans, removal of the approval-ID reference and an application marked No longer SolarAPP eligible, followed by city completeness and electrical review. [Anderson full eligibility bulletin, onsite records and revision/route-exit procedures](https://www.ci.anderson.ca.us/Solar%20App%20Eligibility.pdf?t=202408061255260)

Does municipal completion authorize PG&E operation?

Not alone. An actual PG&E account requires official written permission to operate, separately from municipal outcomes and account-based financial analysis. [PG&E solar interconnection and official written permission to operate](https://www.pge.com/en/clean-energy/solar/getting-started-with-solar.html) [PG&E residential Solar Billing Plan, monthly statements and annual True-Up](https://www.pge.com/en/clean-energy/solar/getting-started-with-solar/solar-billing-plan.html)

Sources and references